Skip to content

Letter to Krispy Kreme or Another Reason Why Tesco Are Evil

February 1, 2011

Yes, I am this sad and yes, I hate Tesco this much.

Dear Sirs,

I used to think of your doughnuts as a treat when they first came over from the US. I am a very infrequent customer now. It appears to me that since your association with Tesco (and probably because of their pressure) your products have been shrinking in size and are not as fresh as they used to be. Or maybe, even worse, you have allowed the Evil Ones to produce them in-house. What a talent they have for finding the point at which a product becomes unfit for human consumption and pulling back by 0.01%.

I just purchased one from Tesco Metro in King’s Cross. One that claimed to be apple-filled and dusted with cinnamon. It was not filled with anything. I don’t mean it had too little or I didn’t like the filling – I mean it had no filling. The only powder with which it was dusted was the traditional Tesco sprinkling of “lowest possible quality”. So, essentially, I just paid £1.35 for a small lump of dough.

I thought I would write to you in case you were under the illusion that customers do not notice such things and are also blind to the fact that equally ghastly Tesco doughnuts (placed right next to your cabinet) retail at 5 for £1.

In addition, your entire UK website appears to be down.

Well done!

Kind Regards

Alex A, London

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 9:49 pm

    You’re missing the point: they have enhanced the doughnut by producing a lower-calorie version of it that still provides an almost identical experience. After all, 90% of the pleasure of a doughnut is in the anticipation; the actual consumption event is neither here nor there.

  2. February 26, 2012 5:51 pm

    I have it on good authority that the Krispy Kreme Donuts are shipped in already finished. I imagine that it is mere proximity to Tesco fare that is causing the reduction in quality. Having said which, I can’t eat them anyway: it’s akin to being injected with candy floss for me.

    • February 26, 2012 5:58 pm

      I actually got a reply where KK admitted they are finished in-store.

      • February 26, 2012 6:35 pm

        Straight from the horse’s mouth, huh? Then I guess your source is more reliable than mine.

      • February 26, 2012 6:48 pm

        Possible they get delivered to central Tesco Metro, though.

      • February 26, 2012 8:40 pm

        Finishing in-store seems more likely. Still, the absence of filling can only have been down to KK.

Leave a Reply

