Skip to content

For Pete’s sake, do something!

March 5, 2011

Pete is the name a distant ex had for my willy. I don’t even remember why any longer, but it has stuck.

I just got back from a fairly fun night out. I have had a few drinks, I’m merry and idiotically smiley and a little horny. I have a choice; to look after Pete, if you know what I mean – and I know you do – or write this. I choose to write this.

You have the right to vote today. Go out there and do it. And not just vote, take someone with you that was not going to. Knock on a neighbour’s door, call your mum, speak to a colleague at work. Get them to come out and vote.

If everyone does this, we can double the turnout. DOUBLE the turnout.

I don’t care if you like the current Coalition, if you think its cuts are necessary and want to support them, or if you think they are idiots and want to send them a message. I don’t care if you like AV or want to stop it dead in its tracks. Turnout will mean legitimacy for whatever the result is.

Stop giving our politicians the easy excuse of indifference. Remember – when the tally is made Abstinence is indistinguishable from Apathy.

Wake up and believe in something. And stand up for it.

Do it for the people of North Africa that are dying for this right, which you take for granted. Do it because this government has shown a propensity to dither under pressure. Do it for your local library. Do it for your local banker.

Or, just do it for Pete’s sake.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Enfrance permalink
    May 5, 2011 7:57 am

    Judging by figures in recent polls some people genuinely believe that by not voting they are being clever.

    How dare they?

    It makes me so angry.

    What an indictment on the British that they can think of throwing away such a hard earned right, especially the women, who’s predecessors fought and actually died for it.

    How dare they!

    Even in my parents’ lifetime women were denied the vote!

    How dare they!

  2. February 26, 2012 8:39 pm

    The tragedy of this was that most people who did exercise their democratic right chose to vote against democracy. That’s just my opinion, of course, but it saddened me.

Leave a Reply

